Slow-Cooker Beef Barley Soup

Posted on June 29, 2007. Filed under: Beef, Slow-Cooker, Soups |

Originally posted in Family Corner What’s for Dinner, February 2007 by:  cau

Beef Barley Soup
2 lbs. grd beef
2 medium onions, chopped
1/2 cup celery
3 cups water
2 cans beef broth
1 cup quick cooking barley
2 cans(14 1/2 onces) of chopped tomatoes
2 teaspoons Worchester sauce
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon basil
In dutch oven cook beef,onions, celery until meat is no longer pink, drain. Stir in water & broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and add barley. Cover and simmer for 10-20 minutes until barley is tender.Stir in remain ingredients & heat through

Colleen’s touch
I often use a round steak instead ( dh likes it better)
I always add chopped or grated carrots
I cook the barley seperate as it is like noodles in that it eats up the broth.
I cook it in my slow cooker.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    My collection of recipes that I haven’t yet tried! I’m buried under paper here….

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

