Lizzie-boo’s Beef and Barley Soup (Slow Cooker)

Posted on September 23, 2007. Filed under: Beef, Reviewed, Slow-Cooker, Soups |

Beef and Barley Soup (Crockpot)

2 lbs. stew meat, cut into cubes

1/4 cup flour

4 Tbsp. oil

3/4 cup pearl barley (not quick barley)

3 carrots, cut in half lengthwise and sliced into half coins

1 medium onion, quartered and thinly sliced

1/2 cup chopped fresh parsley

1 bay leaf

1 1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. pepper

1/2 tsp. dried thyme, crumbled

1/2 tsp. dried savory, crumbled

2 cans (14 oz. each) low-sodium beef broth

Dredge the meat with flour. In a large skillet, brown meat in oil on all sides. Drain any remaining oil.

Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker. Cover and cook on low setting for 8 hours or until beef and barley are tender.

Taste for seasoning; add additional salt or thyme if you wish (but I never see the need).

Serve with crusty bread.

Note: can also be cooked on stovetop, cooking time about 2 1/2 to 3 hours. May need to add water to thin to desired consistency.

Source: Lizzie-boo at Family Corner and MomsMenu

Review:  Excellent soup.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Lizzie-boo’s Beef and Barley Soup (Slow Cooker)”

RSS Feed for Untried Cookbook Comments RSS Feed

I found your recipe by googling “beef barley soup blog.” I’m not big on the commercial recipe sites, so usually find recipes (and great blog sites) in this way.
I don’t make many recipes with beef involved, but my husband likes it from time to time. I do have very fond memories of my father’s Saturday soups and beef barley was one of his best efforts. And, after all these years, I just found out it is my husband’s favorite soup–a detail he’s kept back because he knows beef isn’t my thing…how sweet.
Also, on his behalf, I purchased a large sampler pack of grass fed beef from a farmer at the local market last fall and we are still working our way through it. Grass fed beef is very lean and so I am–by trial and error–learning how to prepare it. This recipe in the slow cooker seems just right.
I’ll report back. Thanks!!


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    My collection of recipes that I haven’t yet tried! I’m buried under paper here….

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

